Wednesday, 24th April 2024

Ordination of Deacons – Easter Tuesday 2013

Posted on 31. Mar, 2013 in Uncategorized

Santi Giovanni e Paolo 1


On Easter Tuesday, 2nd April 2013, Most Reverend Dr Dermot Clifford, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, will ordain four seminarians of the Pontifical Irish College, Rome, to the Diaconate. The Mass of Ordination will take place at 10.30am in Basilica Santi Giovanni e Paolo. Those to be ordained Deacons are: Liam Boyle (Diocese of Raphoe), Brian Fitzpatrick (Diocese of Dromore), Dominic McGrattan (Diocese of Down and Connor), and Patrick O’Donoghue (Diocese of Cloyne).

‘Deacons are ministers ordained for tasks of the Church; they do not receive the ministerial priesthood, but ordination confers on them important functions in the ministry of the word, divine worship, pastoral governance and the service of charity, tasks which they must carry out under the pastoral activity of their bishop.’ – Catechism of the Catholic Church, paragraph 1596